Er

Wotcher Harry Potter fans!

I checked Dictionary.com today and tried to see how many signatures I needed on my petition. I was planning to just have a “Wotcher Awareness Day” and get a bunch of people to learn it and sign my petition. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ That’s not going to happen now:

How does a word get into the dictionary? How can I get my word into the dictionary?

A word gets into the dictionary by being used. That’s the only way. Lexicographers – the people who make dictionaries – don’t make words; they find them and record them. They are like the entomologist who goes into the rain forest looking for new species of beetles. Similarly, you can’t invent a word and petition to have it admitted into the dictionary. You can invent a word and use it, of course, and if your word catches on it might end up in the dictionary some day. However, this is extremely unlikely.

Click here to see that dreadful FAQ. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Thanks for visiting this website Harry Potter fans!

Sarah

About Sarah

Wotcher people of the Internet! I hope you find this website useful... If you have any questions or comments or basically anything you'd like to tell me, please click here: https://harrypotterfanworld.wordpress.com/1715-2/ Thank you for visiting!
This entry was posted in Links and Info. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Er

  1. mike1003 says:

    DOES WOTCHER GO FOR EVERY POST AND IF SO WOTCHER P.S. DONT WORRY WE WILL GET IT IN

  2. Drahpish says:

    ooh ooh by the way you got jennyrules saying wotcher haha she said it accidentally but still she said wotcher

  3. Drahpish says:

    :0 no wotcher in online dictionary!!!!!!!!!!!
    Gasp!!!
    My dictionary has wotcher in it
    that dictionary lame :\

    • Sarah says:

      ๐Ÿ˜ฎ ๐Ÿ˜ฎ YAY!! IT IS IN SOME DICTIONARY!! TELL ME WHICH ONE AND I’LL GIVE YOU SOME HPPs!!

      Yeah, I HATE YOU DICTIONARY.COM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. Drahpish says:

    its a digital dictionary,
    Britannica Concise Encyclopedia
    Oxford Concise Dictionary Thesaurus & quotations

  5. mike1003 says:

    YAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAY GO HP FANS WE HAVE THE WORD WOTCHER IN A DICTIONARY LET’S TRY AND GET ANOTHER DICTIONARY TO ADD IT

    P.S.GO DRACO

    • Sarah says:

      Unfortunately, that is a British dictionary. ๐Ÿ˜ฅ I’m trying to get it into the American dictionary. I just thought that maybe I could show Websters dictionary wotcher in that dictionary and then…

      WAIT: I have not checked my Webster dictionary. I’ll keep you guys posted.

  6. mike1003 says:

    hey i just checked and it is not in the american heratage dictionary ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Leave a Reply

